To make sure that we enter into our discussion about Who Is the Christian God?, I wanted to offer up an Augustinian prayer to set our hearts and minds in the right direction; we are entering into hallowed ground that ought not to be trampled over as if it is some vain thing, NO!, instead he is our very life—that is God in Christ for us, with us. Let us pray:

O Lord our God, we believe in you, Father and Son and Holy Spirit. Truth would not have said, “Go and baptize the nations in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit” (Matt. 28:19), unless you were Trinity. Nor would you have commanded us to be baptized, Lord God, in the name of any who is not Lord God. Nor would it have been said with divine authority, “Hear O Israel, the Lord your God is One God” (Deut. 6:4), unless while being Trinity you were still one Lord God. And if you, God and Father, were yourself also the Son your Word Jesus Christ, were yourself also your gift the Holy Spirit, we would not read in the documents of truth, “God sent his Son” (Gal. 4:4), nor would you, only-begotten one, have said of the Holy Spirit, “whom the Father will send in my name” (John 14:26), and, “whom I will send you from the Father” (John 15:26). Directing my attention toward this rule of faith as best I could, as far as you enabled me to, I have sought you and desired to see intellectually what I have believed….Do you yourself give me the strength to seek, having caused yourself to be found and having given me the hope of finding you more and more….Let me remember you, let me understand you, let me love you. Increase these things in me until you refashion me entirely. [Augustine, De Trinitate 15.28.51, (‘altered by substituting “Trinity” for “triad” to render trinitas’) cited by Khaled Anatolios, Retrieving Nicaea, 292.]

Amen, amen.

