For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. ~Ephesians 6:12

This is a passage that I am going to be talking about in the days to come. I don’t sense that many Christians really believe this passage to be a reality; instead this kind of stuff is merely an abstraction, it seems — maybe I’m wrong. I just wanted to make the assertion, along with the Apostle, that we are in a Spiritual Battle. I’m afraid that much of this stuff, even for Christians, has been psychologized away; that these premoderns (like Paul) were simply unaware of the psycho problems that today (in our age of scientific enlightenment) have been readily catalogued and noted. But NO! The Christian worldview and metaphysic operates with the assumption that the supernatural realm (which includes Angels, a personal Satan, and Demons) exists; and that this realm has real power (albeit neutered by the cross), and real designs on destroying all of God’s creation.

Anyway, I am going to be talking more about this in the days and weeks to come. Put your thinking caps on, and let me know what you think about “Spiritual Warfare;” we aren’t called “the Church militant” for nothing πŸ˜‰ !

