“And no creature is hidden from his sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must give an account.” Hebrews 4:13

“Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? 8. If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! 9. If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, 10. even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.” Psalm 139:7-9

There is nowhere to hide (amen)! Do you ever try and hide things from the LORD (Jonah did)? I think at some levels we all do, at one point or another. I just wanted to share these two passages (there are definitely more in the Bible) to remind you of this reality. For those who know the LORD this should actually be a comforting thing. It should remind us that we are HIS creatures, and every fear, every anxiety, every sin, every excitement, every single thought that we have is known intimately by Him. In fact He certainly knows all of our thoughts and trials, in Christ. The following verses from Hebrews 4 state:

“Since then we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. 15. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. 16. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

So it is not “in general” that He knows our thoughts and our struggles with sin and temptation; NO, it is because He vicariously assumed our very humanity as His very humanity, he knows them in particular. This gives me peace. It gives me peace because when sin seems daunting, and my thoughts go places they shouldn’t; I look at Jesus, and realize that He knows those thoughts, He knows those struggles, and He put all of that to death. In other words, there is real power, because of Christ’s life for us, to take all of these thoughts and struggles to the throne-room of grace; and it is as we enter in through the veil of Christ’s body, that we can ask for help from the Father, boldly, in our time of need (always).

Some times this world, the flesh, and the devil can put a pretty good beat down on me; I am just so thankful that He knows all of my thoughts, all of my struggles, and He still loves me (through the cross).

God sent His son, they called Him, Jesus;
He came to love, heal and forgive;
He lived and died to buy my pardon,
An empty grave is there to prove my Savior lives!

Chorus

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow,
Because He lives, all fear is gone;
Because I know He holds the future,
And life is worth the living,
Just because He lives!

(William J. Gaither)

