Just a reflection. What is it about blogging that is so appealing for so many of us? Is it the ability to create something of our own, using both words and pictures? Or maybe itΒ  just serves as a place to “belch” out our random thoughts, or even not so random thoughts. I think, for me, primarily, it serves as a venue for meeting new and different people; people from different traditions than my own, people with different understandings of the Christian faith. It serves as a place for me to present my ideas (mostly in written form), sometimes receive feedback, and sometimes reorientate my ideas in light of the feedback — so goes the communication loop. Often the blog just serves as an “outlet” for me, I went to bible college and seminary for years, continue to read and study; and I work at Toyota πŸ˜‰ .

All told, now, I have been blogging for about 4 years; which I can hardly believe! I think I’ve gone through approximately 6 different urls, a few different blog names (Affective Theology, Devoted Life, Theologia Crucis, Loci Communes, Listening to the Past, etc.), and a million different templates πŸ˜‰ (and I am going to keep this current one, I promise πŸ™‚ ). Blogging has been a mostly good experience, I have been exposed to many books (that I’ve now read) that I wouldn’t have been otherwise; and beyond that met many different people, that without blogging I wouldn’t have run into — until heaven πŸ˜‰ . After all this time blogging, and “debating,” I often grow tired of it. But I’ve tried to stop in the past (count my blog titles to see how many times I have tried to stop πŸ˜‰ ), and I just cannot seem to get away from it.

Anyway, I say all this, well, because I can, it’s “my” blog after all πŸ™‚ . But beyond that, I just wanted to say I appreciate any and all of you that I have had the pleasure of interacting with (well most of you πŸ˜‰ ); it has been fun and challenging for me. And since you’ve read this far, do any of you have any ideas or issues that you would like me to blog about. At the moment I feel I need a little direction, as far as topics, any ideas . . . let me know. And if you just want to share your own reasons for blogging (even if you don’t have a blog of your own), go ahead!

P. S. Another reason I must like blogging, judging by this post, is that I enjoy using emoticons πŸ™‚ !

