Tags

,

I would consider myself an “Evangelical,” would you? This is a rather tough question to answer, I mean the term Evangelical is so amorphous that at points it seems to defy definition. I will try and parse out how I see myself as an evangelical later. But at the moment I thought I would provide a quote that describes a shade of evangelicalism labeled as “Radical Evangelicalism.” Maybe you fit this label, I can think of one guy who fits it quite well, from my perspective. Here is the description:

Since 1974, a group to the left of the “new” evangelicals has emerged. Richard Quebedeaux refers to them as “radical” evangelicals. They have been heavily influenced by the Catholic left (for example, the Berrigans), Jacques Ellul, and the nonviolent Anabaptist tradition as typified by John Howard Yoder. Coming out of the New Left of the 1960s, they see Christianity juxtaposed against culture. They go beyond the new evangelicals in their desire to reform society, insisting on the formation of alternative communities which will model the simple lifestyle, a sincere concern for the poor and oppressed, “first-priority commitment to one another as sisters and brothers in Christ, and a prophetic critique of the institutional church (conservative and liberal) and the capitalist system in general…. (David L. Smith, “A Handbook of Contemporary Theology,” 63)

Does this sound like you? Are you a radical evangelical? I don’t think I am, instead, if anything, I probably fit the label that Donald Bloesch has suggested as the “New Evangelical.” I will have to try and flesh this out later. Until then let me know if you think you fall within the tradition known as Evangelicalism. And if you do try and provide a description of what you think Evangelicalism is, and where you fall on its continuum (i.e. radical evangelical, new evangelical, etc.).

