The first time I read through the Bible, about 12 years ago now, I came across that passage in I Kings 3 that says:

9. So give your servant an understanding heart to judge Your people to discern between good and evil. For who is able to judge this great people of yours? . . . 12. behold, I have done according to your words. Behold, I have given you a wise and discerning heart, so that there has been no one like you before you, nor shall one like you arise after you. ~I Kings 3:9, 12

The context is Solomon just taking over the “Kingdom” from his father David, Yahweh comes to Solomon in a dream and tells him to ask for whatever he wants. Verse 9 is what Solomon asked for, wisdom, and verse 12 is the LORD’s response . . . He gave him wisdom.

After I first read this I thought, why don’t I ask for wisdom, like Solomon, so I did! And I kept reading, and finally came to I Corinthians 1:30, which says:

But by His doing you are in Christ Jesus, who became to us wisdom from God, and righteousness and sanctification, and redemption, . . .

and I realized that the LORD had already answered my I Kings prayer, in Jesus! 😉

