I am going to continue to study eschatological perspectives, which I have been doing for quite some time now to tell the truth. I continue to be dissatisfied with dispensationalism, but to be honest historic premil isn’t all that appealing either. I don’t want to take a position based upon its “default appeal” (i.e. because it’s the only agreeable one left), but then again maybe that is what my abductive (comparative) study is actually good for—viz. narrowing down to the most sensible position. Here is some of the tension I sit with at the moment:

  • I think I need to find a position that fits with Jn 5:39 as the touchstone point for interpretive methodology.
  • When “we” say it is all about Jesus, does that necessarily mean that the “Land” the “Temple” etc. necessitates the dichotomy of an all or nothing approach? I.e. that the “Land” and “Temple” are figuratively fulfilled in Jesus (amil), or that the “Land” and “Temple” are both literal realities (classic/revised dispy). Why can’t it be both/and (prog. dispy)?
  • Do the Apostles and NT authors actually interpret all of the OT prophecies for us, in principle (i.e. provide an type/anti-type hermeneutic that was intended to be modeled by “us”)?
  • Does the analogia fidei (analogy of faith) apply to Revelation 20:1-6 because it is a crux interpretum?
  • If Jesus is in fact True Israel then what’s the point of a literal 1,000 year earthly millennium?
  • And on, and on, and on ad infinitum . . . πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

These represent just a few questions I am dealing with, currently, on this issue. Like I’ve said, I am a born dispy premiller by stock, but as I continue to study God’s Word (the Bible) I am constantly being re-challenged to re-think, or re-evaluate, my long held pre-understandings. I am thankful my salvation does not depend upon my eschatological view πŸ˜‰ ; but, that does not mean this is not a highly important issue. In fact this issue is so important, that it is ultimately determinative of how I will interpret scripture . . . which has impact upon my own spirituality, my families’ spirituality (as I lead them), co-workers, friends, etc. That is why I am not taking this lightly . . . anyway look for more posts on this issue, sporadically, as you visit my blog–your feedback is always appreciated!

P.S. If you have time (approx. 1hr 15min) listen to this excellent talk by G. K. Beale on the Temple and the Church’s Mission. It is talks like this, that tempt me greatly to become amil, I will continue to study and let you know where I am going to land on this issue.

